If you do not want a pre-defined system field to be displayed under students or staff, you can inactivate it. You cannot completely delete a system field.
To inactivate a system field, navigate to Platform Settings > System Fields. On the system fields page, use the toggle button under the Actions to make a field inactive/active.
Note that once a field is disabled, it will not we visible to any of the staff user.